Transformation, Two Perspectives: Why You Need a Visual Touchstone by Emma

“When Rayanne Graff told me my hair was holding me back I had to listen ’cause she wasn’t just talking about my hair, she was talking about my life…” Angela Chase

Two years of worshipping Angela Chase finally changed my life. Remember My So Called Life when Angela went from a mousy blonde to a bright red? I knew it was time to embrace my Angela. And so my friends and I turned on Hole, and gathered over the bathtub. And it was fantastic, and the next day I was kicked out of school until my mother agreed to strip the color out of my hair. We went to Regis. It was the best thing that ever, ever, ever happened in my life.

It’s time to shed the past again. There comes a time in our lives when we grow up, when we make peace with of all of our baggage, and we move on. Or, we continue to let that baggage shape our lives. Practice the former, because the latter means your parents, your schools, your friends/enemies/frenemies, your boy/girlfriends are now you, and will forever be you. So be you now,  make peace with the past.

Transformation means limitations, it means ambiguity, and sometimes, fear  – how do I figure out who I am today? It’s a process, an uncomfortable process, and finally, a rewarding process. A new step each day toward a new self. A new self that transcends.

Leave a Reply

