The Contents of My Closet: Part 1, Lessons Learned


If you’re looking to revamp your look and are on a very very limited budget, like me, here are a couple of tips. This is what I’ve learned over the past month as I’ve worked on building my full Daphne Guinness-inspired wardrobe, composed strictly of black, white and metallics (and – more soon – a dash of red), with no money. Well, a little. But really, none. No, “Well I bought this one staple designer purse for $500,” BS.

You can do this, too. In short, buy nothing at retail cost. Pay no attention to trends. Figure out what makes you happy before entering the store, and stick to the plan.

Before I start, one big picture tip – remember to think holistically, pick up a couple of basic shirts (jersey and button up), a couple of pairs of pants, a skirt, a dress and then, focus on accessories like earrings and scarves – this is where you can make the same look appear fresh over and over again.

Lessons learned:

  • For your basics: Forever 21 is a perfect outlet, and for these basic items, don’t be afraid about an age gap. It used to be all about Gap for basics, but as we know, Gap has forever ruined their image, and, besides, even the Gap is too expensive for me. Forever 21 has it all, basic t’s, tank tops, long-sleeve t-shirts, etc. for super cheap and in lots of colors. They’re also doing amazing things with synthetics. Check out their athletics department for the best basics.
  • For your advanced basics: Discount store (I go for Gabriel Brother’s, but they aren’t around DC) like TJ Maxx or Marshall’s. This may take a couple of visits, be patient with yourself. I always suggest starting with the clearance aisle, this is usually where the crazy, “There is no way I could wear that!” stuff ends up. But here is the thing, you can wear it. Own it, girl.
  • For your drag queen look: Value Village thrift store. This is the next step that I will be documenting over the coming months – Value Village is the only place I will shop through April 2012.
Part 2 coming tomorrow: video tour of my closet. 
xoxo,
Emma
Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “The Contents of My Closet: Part 1, Lessons Learned”

  1. Brieahn J. DeMeo says :

    will you take me on one of your Value Village excursions….please!

Leave a Reply

