merin: day 19 \ shoeaday

Since we’re about 2/3 of the way through this project, it might be time to start looking for ‘lessons learned.’ As nonprofit worker bees, Emma and I are constantly being lectured about best practices, and reflecting on lessons learned is definitely a best practice.

Learned: I have a lot of metallic shoes. More than I ever imagined. And I wear them a lot. Bronze, gold, silver… I just love metallic shoes. Yes, I know that the practical argument is that they are neutrals, transition well from day to night, match everything. But really what appeals to me: sparkle.

I know, it’s pathetic. But I’ve always loved sparkly or shiny things. I was constantly burning my hand as a child because I would try to touch anything really shiny. Like piping hot car exhaust pipes. I also, at age four, liked to talk to women about their engagement rings and get them to let me try them on. Now that I think of it, that might actually have something to do with my fascination with trophy wives…

Leave a Reply

