merin: day 12 \ shoeaday

As I may have mentioned in an earlier post, I have the tendency to overthink things. This happens a lot. Point in case, I was going to the DMV to take my driver’s test (yes, that means that I didn’t have a driver’s license and no I won’t tell you the story. You can ask any of my friends/family and they would love to make fun of me about it).

Now, many people just get up and get dressed and go to the DMV. This is not what a well-prepared overthinker would do. First, the shoe selection is very important. Something that allows full command of the gas pedal while also lending sensitivity to breaking. Ballet flats with a thin sole are the obvious choice. But you don’t want to be too flashy at the DMV, so giraffe print and clear with rhinestones are out. However, a lovely crackled bronze leather is perfect. Not too showy, but composed and fairly conservative.

I passed. Which is good, because I really needed to be able to pick up a rental car in San Francisco one day later…

2 responses to “merin: day 12 \ shoeaday”

  1. Kate says :

    Not since Alicia Silverstone in Clueless has someone thought so hard about what to wear to a drivers test 🙂

    • birdsofapleather says :

      As Clueless points out, Southern Californians place unnecessary stress and expectations of taking one’s driver’s test. After all, which will get you further in life – driving or amazing fashion. The latter, duu-uh!

Leave a Reply

